A Fragrant Breeze

This piece was written in response to Naviarhaiku341 – A fragrant breeze

     A fragrant breeze
     Is blowing from China
     Over these seven strings

This haiku is by Tagami Kikusha (1753-1826), a Japanese multi-disciplinary artist and Buddhist nun, mostly known as a poet, painter, calligrapher and tea practitioner. The haiku was written when she visited the temple Hooryuuji in Nara, in 1812, and was allowed to play an ancient Chinese guqin.

A Fragrant Breeze was written for seven groups of strings – three Violins, two Violas, and two Cellos.

A Fragrant Breeze – Score https://bit.ly/3jlwJ0q

About GLSmyth

GLSmyth.com GeorgeSmyth.com
This entry was posted in Cello, Viola, Violin and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.